Marriage License Overview
MARRIAGE LICENSE ARE ISSUED BY APPOINTMENT. Follow the link above to submit your application and request an appointment.
- Both must be 18 years old or older (if either party is under 18, please see requirements below)
- There is no waiting period, blood test or physical requirement.
- The marriage license is valid for 30 days, including the date issued.
- The marriage license is valid anywhere in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.
Prohibited and Restricted Marriages:
- Marriages between persons who are nearer of kin to each other by blood, than second cousins.
- Marriages with a person mentally incompetent.
- Marriages where one of the parties living, from whom the person marrying has not been divorced.
- Marriages not solemnized or contracted in the presence of an authorized person or society.
- Common law marriages.
- Proxy marriages.
Please refer to KRS 402.020 to learn about prohibited marriages
Solemnization of Marriage:
- Marriages shall be solemnized only by clergy, justices and judges of the Court of Justice; retired justices and judges of the Court of Justice, except those removed for cause or convicted of a felony; county judge/executives; such justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners as the Governor or the county judge/executive authorizes, and certain religious societies.
- At least two persons, in addition to the parties and the person solemnizing the marriage, must be present at every marriage.
- There are no residency requirements or licensing requirements applicable to ministers or priests who wish to perform marriages in Kentucky.
- A minister or priest, all justices and judges of the Court of Justice, justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners may perform marriages anywhere in Kentucky.
Who may solemnize a marriage?
Marriage shall be solemnized only by clergy, justices and judges of the Court of Justice, retired justices and judges of the Court of Justice except those removed for cause or convicted of a felony, county judge/executives, such justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners as the Governor or the county judge/executive authorizes, and certain religious societies. See KRS 402.050 (1)(a), (b) and (c). A deputy county judge/executive has no authority to solemnize a marriage. OAG 82-145. There is no provision in the statute that a minister be at least eighteen years of age and thus the qualifications of a minister, including age, are left up to the particular religious denomination. OAG 80-256. Ordained clergyman or minister. OAG 84-96; OAG 83-240; OAG 78-303; OAG 76-603.
If the group in question is organized and maintained for the support of public worship of God and the applicant is recognized as a minister of such group, he would qualify as a minister. A “religious society” in Kentucky is a broad term and includes any group organized and maintained for the public worship of God. The “recognition” of a minister can take the form or ordination or license or any other form which expresses clearly the fact that a religious group recognizes the person or looks to the person as a minister of that specific group. See OAG 63-24; OAG 72-805; OAG 76-603.
The “recognition” of a minister can take the form of ordination or license or any other form which expresses clearly the fact that a religious group recognizes the person or looks to the person as a minister of that specific group. Currently, there is not a registration process for a minister to perform ceremonies in Kentucky.
Marriage License FAQs
Where are marriage licenses issued?
Who issues marriage licenses?
How can we obtain our marriage license?
- Both parties must apply for the license together.
- Identification is required. Both must present an acceptable form of ID, Acceptable forms of ID include: Drivers’ license (preferred), or a combination of the following –government issued picture ID, original birth certificate, passport and/or social security card.
- Both parties must be 18 years old or older.
- There is a $50.00 fee for a marriage license.
Where can I return my marriage license after the ceremony?
Anyone may hand-carry your completed license back to the Scott County Clerk’s Office or you may mail it in the envelope provided to you at the time of your application. If you choose to mail it, please affix 2 stamps to the envelope to assure the license is returned to us.
Is there a waiting period or blood test requirement?
Do I need to bring my birth certificate?
Do I need to bring my divorce decree?
Do I need to bring my social security card?
Only if you intend to use it as part of your proof of identity.
Can I get a marriage license in one county in Kentucky and marry in another county in Kentucky?
What do we do after we are married?
- Return the signed marriage application to the Scott County Clerk’s Office. It will be filed with the County Clerk and a Marriage License will be issued to the couple by mail.
- When changing your maiden name, you will take your marriage license to the Social Security Administration. Information about the Social Security Office located in Lexington, KY.
- Upon receiving clearance from the Social Security Administration, then you may change your name on your driver’s license. Information about the Scott County Circuit Clerk’s office.
Need a copy of a marriage license?
Send written notice to:
Scott County Clerk’s Office
101 E Main St
Georgetown, KY 40324
- Include in the written notice the following information: full name of both parties and the date of marriage.
- A certified copy is $7.00 by mail.
A certified copy of a marriage license can also be obtained in person at the Scott County Clerk’s Office. The fee to obtain a certified copy of the marriage license in person is $5.
Scott County Clerk
101 E Main St, Georgetown, KY 40324
- Chief Deputy: Kenna.Portwood@ky.gov
- Election: Amber.Hoffman@ky.gov
- Motor Vehicle: Betty.Tate@ky.gov
- Recordings: Tessa.Wagoner@ky.gov
Accepted methods of payment are cash, money order, cashier check, and personal checks. We accept Visa, Discover, AMX or MasterCard.
Please be advised that the use of a debit or credit card will incur a vendors' fee of 2.75% of the total amount of the transaction.